Today…

Today…

I had an old friend visit… The advent of my guest elicited a tremor of fear, a surge of adrenalin urging me to flee.  I did not expect this visitation.  Today she came upon this body seeking a sojourn.

She is an odd entity… a shape shifter.  Each visit an oddly intimate encounter.  Today in the sunshine and warmth, she arrived quickly, wielding her edged and divisive looking glass.  I the unwitting mole peeking to spy my reflection, let her enter.  I embraced the silken sapphire, delighted in the way it waltzed across my legs, relished the means by which it held my curves, savoured the bewitching caress against my skin.  She did not.

A few years ago… I bid her into my heart, my head, my life with abandon; her accomplices contrived her case and trickled into my synapses.  Today, she startled me, overwhelmed me with despair and terror.  Today, she was unaware I am anew.

She lingered but moments…. Languished herself upon me, pleading for attention.  She did not know the depth to which love has enveloped my existence.  She could not cling to me, entice or drag me to the floor, quell that which permeates my essence, soothes my being.  I was reminded, as she sought to trace the outlines she claimed too obtuse, of the hands far more worthy which follow my lines, cradle my hand and usher my heart.

Today…

© Michelle Redman and mredmanwrites, 2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Michelle Redman and mredmanwrites with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “Today…

Leave a Reply

